Traditional Finance Accelerates Stablecoin Expansion: USBDC Cross-Border Payment Pilot, MoneyGram Visa Card, and Coinbase Community Bank Infrastructure
September 2026 stablecoin acceleration: USBDC pilot, MoneyGram Visa card, Coinbase community bank infrastructure—all pilots or plans, not investment advice.
Article Citation Summary
September 2026 stablecoin acceleration: USBDC pilot, MoneyGram Visa card, Coinbase community bank infrastructure—all pilots or plans, not investment advice.
Core summary: In September 2026, traditional financial institutions made three new moves in stablecoins: U.S. Bank completed a USBDC cross-border payment pilot, MoneyGram launched a Visa stablecoin virtual card in Colombia, and Coinbase and Moov announced they would provide stablecoin infrastructure for over 1,000 community banks; another 21 financial institutions plan to issue U.S. dollar stablecoins in the first half of 2027. Most of these projects are in pilot or planning stages. OKX users should first verify official support before judging whether they affect their own operations.
The three developments in traditional finance stablecoin acceleration are all pilots or plans; OKX is not directly involved, and they do not directly represent OKX product support.
Event Overview: Why These Three Signals Matter to OKX Users
According to a Yahoo Finance report on September 9, 2026, U.S. Bank completed a USBDC cross-border payment pilot; according to a CoinTelegraph report on September 10, 2026, MoneyGram launched a Visa stablecoin debit card, Coinbase and Moov partnered to serve over 1,000 community banks, and 21 financial institutions plan to form a company to issue U.S. dollar stablecoins. Note that these three developments in traditional finance stablecoin acceleration are all pilots or plans; OKX is not directly involved, and they do not directly represent OKX product support.
USBDC Cross-Border Payment Pilot: Mechanism and Current Boundaries
How USBDC Is Pegged 1:1 to the U.S. Dollar
According to a Yahoo Finance report on September 9, 2026, USBDC is pegged 1:1 to the U.S. dollar. However, key information such as reserve composition, auditing firm, and redemption mechanism has not been disclosed in public reports. Users can refer to this site's related follow-up report "U.S. Bank Completes Its Own Stablecoin USBDC Cross-Border Payment Pilot" for background on the Stellar on-chain pilot.
Pilot Scope and Undisclosed Data
Pilot amount, participants, time frame, and fees have not been disclosed. USBDC cannot be directly equated with USDT or USDC. Whether it supports OKX deposits or trading must be based on OKX's official stablecoin list.
| Item | Disclosed | Not disclosed |
|---|---|---|
| 1:1 peg | Yes, pegged to USD | Reserve composition, audits |
| Pilot status | Completed cross-border payment pilot | Amount, participants, regions |
| OKX support | No | Listing, deposits/withdrawals |
MoneyGram Visa Stablecoin Debit Card: Colombia Virtual Card and Remittance Costs
Virtual Card Launch Scope and Wallet Support
According to a CoinTelegraph report on September 10, 2026, MoneyGram launched a Visa-branded stablecoin debit card, initially as a virtual card in Colombia, supporting Apple Wallet and Google Wallet. Supported currencies, issuer, and KYC requirements have not been announced.
World Bank Debit Card Remittance Cost Data
The same report cited World Bank data: debit cards are the lowest-cost instrument for receiving remittances, with fees at 3.61% of the remittance amount. This is macro-level statistics and cannot be equated with the actual fee rate of the MoneyGram Visa stablecoin card.
| Indicator | Value/Description | Applicable scope |
|---|---|---|
| World Bank debit card remittance fees | 3.61% | Global macro data, not actual card fee rate |
| Card type | Visa-branded stablecoin debit card | Initially virtual card, Colombia |
| Wallet support | Apple Wallet / Google Wallet | Subject to official announcement |
Coinbase and Moov: Expansion Logic for Community Bank Stablecoin Infrastructure
Coverage: Over 1,000 Community Banks and Credit Unions
According to a CoinTelegraph report on September 10, 2026, Coinbase and Moov partnered to provide stablecoin payment acceptance, settlement, and real-time funding infrastructure for over 1,000 community banks and credit unions. The report has not disclosed whether transactions have actually been processed or only a partnership was signed; official announcements should be consulted for verification.
Stablecoin Issuance Plans of 21 Financial Institutions
The same report said 21 financial institutions (including Bank of America, Citi, Goldman Sachs, etc.) announced plans to form a company to issue stablecoins, targeting U.S. dollar stablecoin launches in the first half of 2027. This is a "plan" rather than "already live" and cannot be equated with listing. You can refer to this site's "2026 Stablecoin Acceleration: 21 Banks’ G7 Stablecoin Alliance, Kast Commercial Platform, and Singapore MAS Regulatory Progress" for earlier background on the industry alliance.
How OKX Users Can Verify and Respond: Data Standards, Applicable Conditions, and Operational Suggestions
OKX-Related Information to Verify Before Writing
Users should not treat industry news as OKX product commitments. We recommend verifying the following steps:
- After logging in to OKX, check the official list of supported stablecoins to confirm whether USBDC or related new stablecoins have been listed.
- Verify deposit/withdrawal channels, supported regions, and limits to avoid deposit delays caused by bank holidays or regional restrictions.
- For on-chain transfers, verify contract addresses and proof of reserves through a block explorer, and only use addresses provided by official OKX channels.
- Set alerts for important price movements and follow official OKX announcements; do not rely on third-party media to judge support status.
How to Avoid Treating Industry News as OKX Product Commitments
For questions like "is the stock market open today," stock market closures do not directly affect 24/7 crypto trading, but fiat deposit/withdrawal channels may be impacted by bank business days. For such real-time queries, no article can replace exchange announcements; whether it is open must be based on OKX official announcements and local bank arrangements. You can refer to "Stablecoin Cross-Border Payments Account for Only 0.02%: Bank Infrastructure Is Irreplaceable, How QuFi Post-Quantum Verification Strengthens Settlement Security 2026" to understand the relationship between bank infrastructure and traditional financial stablecoins.
Risks and Limitations: What These Developments Do Not Mean for OKX Users
Short-Term Impact Is Uncertain
This site's independent judgment: Most of the above projects are in pilot or planning stages and will not directly change the range of stablecoins available to OKX users in the short term. Even if some stablecoins are listed in the future, there will first be official announcements and compliance processes.
No Need to Adjust Trading Strategies Based on News
Independent researcher perspective: Users should not adjust stablecoin holdings or trading strategies based solely on industry news; treat news as a verification clue, not an action signal. OKX is not directly mentioned in these reports, so it cannot be asserted that OKX will support USBDC or cooperate with the relevant institutions.
Users should not adjust stablecoin holdings or trading strategies based solely on industry news; treat news as a verification clue, not an action signal.
Risk warning: Crypto/digital asset prices are highly volatile, and information and rules may change at any time. This article does not constitute investment, legal, or tax advice. Decisions should be based on the latest official announcements and actual product pages.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
What is the difference between USBDC and USDT/USDC?
USBDC is a U.S. dollar stablecoin issued by U.S. Bank itself. According to a Yahoo Finance report on September 9, 2026, it has completed a cross-border payment pilot and is pegged 1:1 to the U.S. dollar. Currently, its reserve composition, audits, and redeemability have not been disclosed, and it cannot be equated with USDT or USDC, which circulate on multiple trading platforms.
Which countries and currencies does MoneyGram's Visa stablecoin card support?
According to a CoinTelegraph report on September 10, 2026, MoneyGram's Visa stablecoin debit card was initially launched as a virtual card in Colombia, supporting Apple Wallet and Google Wallet. Supported currencies, issuer, and future expansion countries have not been announced; refer to MoneyGram's official announcements.
Can OKX users trade or deposit these new stablecoins?
There is currently no evidence that OKX supports USBDC or related new stablecoins. Users should log in to OKX to check the official supported stablecoin list and deposit/withdrawal rules, and cannot judge tradability or depositability based solely on industry news.
Will the stock market being open today affect stablecoin trading?
Stock market closures do not directly affect 24/7 crypto trading, but fiat deposit/withdrawal channels may be affected by bank business days and regional arrangements. Whether it is open must be based on OKX official announcements and local bank arrangements.
When will the stablecoins planned by the 21 financial institutions be launched?
According to a CoinTelegraph report on September 10, 2026, 21 institutions, including Bank of America, Citi, and Goldman Sachs, plan to form a company to issue U.S. dollar stablecoins, targeting a launch in the first half of 2027. This is only a planned timing and does not represent actual listing.
How can I verify the reserves and compliance of a stablecoin project?
Users should prioritize reviewing the issuer's primary announcements, proof of reserves, and regulatory filings, and verify contract addresses through a block explorer. For the projects in this report, USBDC's audit and reserve information has not been disclosed, so it should be judged only after official disclosure.
What direct impact does traditional finance stablecoin acceleration have on OKX users?
There is currently no direct impact. Most of the above projects are in pilot or planning stages, OKX is not directly involved, and the range of stablecoins available to OKX users will not change in the short term. Users should verify the official support list rather than act based on news.
How can I confirm the actual remittance cost of the MoneyGram Visa stablecoin card?
World Bank data shows the average fee for receiving remittances via debit card is 3.61% of the remittance amount, but this is global macro data and is not the actual fee rate for this card. MoneyGram has not disclosed specific fees; refer to official announcements.
Editor's note: This article was compiled by an OKX Radar independent researcher based on Yahoo Finance and CoinTelegraph public reports from September 2026, through cross-verification of public information. This article does not involve any commercial promotion, and the author has no relevant conflicts of interest. The publication date is as shown on the page.
References and verification links
These are the article-level sources stored with this page. Interpret dynamic facts and rules in light of their dates, regions, and subsequent updates.
FAQ
What is the difference between USBDC and USDT/USDC? ▼
USBDC is a U.S. dollar stablecoin issued by U.S. Bank itself. According to a Yahoo Finance report on September 9, 2026, it has completed a cross-border payment pilot and is pegged 1:1 to the U.S. dollar. Currently, its reserve composition, audits, and redeemability have not been disclosed, and it cannot be equated with USDT or USDC, which circulate on multiple trading platforms.
Which countries and currencies does MoneyGram's Visa stablecoin card support? ▼
According to a CoinTelegraph report on September 10, 2026, MoneyGram's Visa stablecoin debit card was initially launched as a virtual card in Colombia, supporting Apple Wallet and Google Wallet. Supported currencies, issuer, and future expansion countries have not been announced; refer to MoneyGram's official announcements.
Can OKX users trade or deposit these new stablecoins? ▼
There is currently no evidence that OKX supports USBDC or related new stablecoins. Users should log in to OKX to check the official supported stablecoin list and deposit/withdrawal rules, and cannot judge tradability or depositability based solely on industry news.
Will the stock market being open today affect stablecoin trading? ▼
Stock market closures do not directly affect 24/7 crypto trading, but fiat deposit/withdrawal channels may be affected by bank business days and regional arrangements. Whether it is open must be based on OKX official announcements and local bank arrangements.
When will the stablecoins planned by the 21 financial institutions be launched? ▼
According to a CoinTelegraph report on September 10, 2026, 21 institutions, including Bank of America, Citi, and Goldman Sachs, plan to form a company to issue U.S. dollar stablecoins, targeting a launch in the first half of 2027. This is only a planned timing and does not represent actual listing.
How can I verify the reserves and compliance of a stablecoin project? ▼
Users should prioritize reviewing the issuer's primary announcements, proof of reserves, and regulatory filings, and verify contract addresses through a block explorer. For the projects in this report, USBDC's audit and reserve information has not been disclosed, so it should be judged only after official disclosure.